Hostel Hostility

May 22, 2012 § Leave a comment

At the youth hostel where we stayed one night near Maktesh Ramon in Israel, I went out for a walk in the early morning. The freshly risen sun on the Negev desert was so lovely.

A loud cracking noise caught my attention. Following it, I noticed two large ibex just outside the gate having quite a row! They knocked their horns together and leapt at each other over and over, wrestling when horns interlocked.
From the photos I took, I later counted over twenty bumps on each horn so they were both older than I was.

Later that day we repelled a little way down into the Ramon craters, and I discovered how much fun it is to drop over the edge of a cliff! With a rope.

Two great memories from one of my favorite days in Israel…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hostel Hostility at Contending Earnestly for the Faith.

meta

